Upgrade error after downgrade

So I downgraded with cyanlabs to 3.3 using the downgrade tool. I’m trying to fix the clock changing itself issue. Just tried to update back up to an early version of 3.4 but I get this error. Am I doing something wrong?

I’m confused by your message.
Which version are you on?.
Post the logs of the USB.

If you are using the downgrade option then you are trying to reformat. You need to place the Syn3 Updater app back to automatic mode. The app will choose Autoinstall for this which is correct.

I was on 3.4.22 something. I used the downgrade tool which took it to 3.3.19052, which I believe is the default version it downgraded to. So that’s where I’m at now, but would like to get back up to 3.4.21265

Post a log, without it we have no idea what you have done!

This is the second time we have asked for this now, if no log is provided in the next 48 hours this topic will be closed automatically, feel to raise another topic with the log if this happens.

CYANLABS - SYN3 UPDATER - V2.11.4.0

Branch: Stable

Operating System: Microsoft Windows 11 Home (2009)

PREVIOUS CONFIGURATION

Version: 3.3.19052

Region: EU

Navigation: False

Install Mode: Auto-Detect (autoinstall)

Install Mode Overridden: False

My20 Protection Enabled: Auto-Detect

DESTINATION DETAILS

Mode: Drive

Model: Generic Flash Disk USB Device

Size: 29.3GB

FileSystem: exFAT

Partition Type: MBR

AUTOINSTALL.LST

; CyanLabs Syn3Updater 2.11.4.0 Stable - Autoinstall Mode - Sync 3.4.20136 EU

[SYNCGen3.0_ALL_PRODUCT]

Item1 = ENH_DAB - 1U5T-14G658-AE_1553188025000.TAR.GZ

Open1 = SyncMyRide\1U5T-14G658-AE_1553188025000.TAR.GZ

Item2 = GRACENOTES - 4U5T-14G423-AA_123694.tar.gz

Open2 = SyncMyRide\4U5T-14G423-AA_123694.tar.gz

Item3 = APPS - 5U5T-14G381-ED_1591670365000.TAR.GZ

Open3 = SyncMyRide\5U5T-14G381-ED_1591670365000.TAR.GZ

Item4 = VOICE - 5U5T-14G391-AL_1580843150000.TAR.GZ

Open4 = SyncMyRide\5U5T-14G391-AL_1580843150000.TAR.GZ

Options = AutoInstall

FILES (4)

1U5T-14G658-AE_1553188025000.TAR.GZ (60.6MB)

4U5T-14G423-AA_123694.tar.gz (709.2MB)

5U5T-14G381-ED_1591670365000.TAR.GZ (841.8MB)

5U5T-14G391-AL_1580843150000.TAR.GZ (1.5GB)

LOG

[23/10/2022 19:56:46] Selected Region: EU - Release: Sync 3.4.20136 - Map Version: Non Nav APIM

[23/10/2022 19:56:46] Install Mode: Auto-Detect (autoinstall) Forced: False

[23/10/2022 19:56:46] MY20 Protection: Auto-Detect

[23/10/2022 19:56:47] Formatting USB drive

[23/10/2022 19:56:47] Re-creating partition table as MBR and formatting as ExFat on selected USB drive

[23/10/2022 19:56:57] Checking Existing File: 1U5T-14G658-AE_1553188025000.TAR.GZ

[23/10/2022 19:56:57] Downloading: 1U5T-14G658-AE_1553188025000.TAR.GZ

[23/10/2022 19:57:08] Validating: 1U5T-14G658-AE_1553188025000.TAR.GZ

[23/10/2022 19:57:08] Downloaded: 1U5T-14G658-AE_1553188025000.TAR.GZ

[23/10/2022 19:57:09] Checking Existing File: 4U5T-14G423-AA_123694.tar.gz

[23/10/2022 19:57:09] Downloading: 4U5T-14G423-AA_123694.tar.gz

[23/10/2022 19:57:33] Validating: 4U5T-14G423-AA_123694.tar.gz

[23/10/2022 19:57:36] Downloaded: 4U5T-14G423-AA_123694.tar.gz

[23/10/2022 19:57:36] Checking Existing File: 5U5T-14G381-ED_1591670365000.TAR.GZ

[23/10/2022 19:57:36] Downloading: 5U5T-14G381-ED_1591670365000.TAR.GZ

[23/10/2022 19:58:46] Validating: 5U5T-14G381-ED_1591670365000.TAR.GZ

[23/10/2022 19:58:49] Downloaded: 5U5T-14G381-ED_1591670365000.TAR.GZ

[23/10/2022 19:58:49] Checking Existing File: 5U5T-14G391-AL_1580843150000.TAR.GZ

[23/10/2022 19:58:49] Downloading: 5U5T-14G391-AL_1580843150000.TAR.GZ

[23/10/2022 20:01:01] Validating: 5U5T-14G391-AL_1580843150000.TAR.GZ

[23/10/2022 20:01:08] Downloaded: 5U5T-14G391-AL_1580843150000.TAR.GZ

[23/10/2022 20:01:08] Preparing USB drive

[23/10/2022 20:01:08] Checking Existing File: 1U5T-14G658-AE_1553188025000.TAR.GZ

[23/10/2022 20:01:08] Copying: 1U5T-14G658-AE_1553188025000.TAR.GZ

[23/10/2022 20:01:25] Validating: 1U5T-14G658-AE_1553188025000.TAR.GZ

[23/10/2022 20:01:31] Copied: 1U5T-14G658-AE_1553188025000.TAR.GZ

[23/10/2022 20:01:31] Checking Existing File: 4U5T-14G423-AA_123694.tar.gz

[23/10/2022 20:01:31] Copying: 4U5T-14G423-AA_123694.tar.gz

[23/10/2022 20:04:54] Validating: 4U5T-14G423-AA_123694.tar.gz

[23/10/2022 20:05:54] Copied: 4U5T-14G423-AA_123694.tar.gz

[23/10/2022 20:05:54] Checking Existing File: 5U5T-14G381-ED_1591670365000.TAR.GZ

[23/10/2022 20:05:54] Copying: 5U5T-14G381-ED_1591670365000.TAR.GZ

[23/10/2022 20:10:01] Validating: 5U5T-14G381-ED_1591670365000.TAR.GZ

[23/10/2022 20:10:55] Copied: 5U5T-14G381-ED_1591670365000.TAR.GZ

[23/10/2022 20:10:55] Checking Existing File: 5U5T-14G391-AL_1580843150000.TAR.GZ

[23/10/2022 20:10:55] Copying: 5U5T-14G391-AL_1580843150000.TAR.GZ

[23/10/2022 20:18:47] Validating: 5U5T-14G391-AL_1580843150000.TAR.GZ

[23/10/2022 20:21:10] Copied: 5U5T-14G391-AL_1580843150000.TAR.GZ

[23/10/2022 20:21:11] Generating Autoinstall.lst

[23/10/2022 20:21:11] ALL FILES DOWNLOADED AND COPIED TO THE USB DRIVE SUCCESSFULLY!

Nothing is wrong with this, there is no reason why this USB won’t work, make sure to restart your SYNC and try it from a fresh boot.

So just to confirm, after you downgrade, you should be able to upgrade again as normal? I don’t have to reformat to go back to 3.4?

yeh I read that, it’s just this bit that confuses me as it says after downgrading it allows the reformat tool to be used. Does that mean I need to use reformat to update? Can you just confirm if i need to manually change to reformat and make the usb, or leave it as auto and just try again after a reset of the sync?

“Downgrade

This is a hybrid method combining parts of the AutoInstall and Reformat as one. Essentially when reformat is used it will downgrade your post 3.4.19274 SYNC to 3.3.19052 this allows for the reformat tool to be used. once at this stage everything is the same as the reformat.”

No, it means that after downgradind IT ALLOWS the reformat tool to be used.
It’s not mandatory to use it, you CAN use it, you do not HAVE TO.

The leaked reformat tool was blacklisted in latest builds, so downgrading to 3.3 enables its use.

Once you are on 3.3, you can do whatever you want.

And a note: downgrade method in Syn3updater is “downgrade to 3.3 and then reformat”, it’s a combo. You going from 3.4 to 3.3 is installing a previous build, lets say, but that can be done without the “downgrade method” (which would include a reformat phase).

Ok thanks that clears it up a bit. I did initially try just downgrading but that also gave errors. So then I did the downgrade option and that worked. I’ll just reformat to 3.4 then and take it from there

That’s the safest, quickest and cleanest way.
If your hardware supports reformating, it’s the way to go.

1 Like

This topic was automatically closed 2 days after the last reply. New replies are no longer allowed.