2013 MKZ Hybrid SYNC 3 conversion, Flank Guard comes on

I am a Ford Senior Master Technician, but I’m having an issue I cannot seem to resolve. I recently retrofitted my 2013 MKZ Hybrid with SYNC 3. I used the As-Built from a similarly equipped 20118 MKZ Hybrid. Everything is working as expected with one issue; Flank Guard keeps overlaying my screen upon startup, and randomly; especially when slowing from highway speeds. I can make it go away by touching any corner of the touchscreen. I changed the Flank Guard setting to “Disabled” in ForScan, but it makes no difference whether enabled or disabled.

SYNC Region: NA

Navigation Variant: Nav

Manufacturer Year: Unknown

Install Type: Retrofit

Old SYNC Version: 3.4.23188

New SYNC Version: 3.4.23188

Do you have a error message, if so what is it?

Update Method: Official Ford

Current As-Built in my APIM.

2013 Fusion and MKZ were a bit of an odd ball, Ford actually brought them in Sync with the Mondeo logic in 2014.
There’s a lot of good info over on 2gfusions.net.
Here’s the .ab from the 2014 Fusion Hybrid I used to have, to get it working I had to pull from a 2017 Hybrid because a 2018 wouldn’t work due to the changes Ford made that year.
It might give you something to work with.
APIM 09072020.abt.txt (495 Bytes)

Thank you. I will give it a try.

I just blew your As-Built into my APIM. Upon restarting, Flank Guard did not come up. However, as I changed parameters; Lincoln brand, Heated/cooled seats, Active Park Assist, etc, Flank Guard started coming back on. Undoing the changes did not fix it. Only way to keep it from coming on is your As-Built. Unsure if leaving your As-Built alone would keep it from happening… I did find As-Built for a 2017 MKZ Hybrid, but it doesn’t seem to have the same number of entries…

This is where you take baby steps to see what is kicking it on, if you’re using ForScan easy buttons, they aren’t fool proof.