2017 Ford Escape (19205) To 3.4 (19274) Questions

Hi Everyone. I should get my vehicle back tomorrow from having some warranty services completed.

I have a loner of a 2020 Ford Fusion with 3.4/19274 on it which works really well. Based on research and some issues I see reported on later versions, I think I’ll try that build.

I’ve created my USB and know what to do. Here’s my question.

I see most people saying I’ll be missing things if I do not update my APIM firmware. While my day job is IT (hardware repair, networking, software support), ForScan scares me. I’ve never ‘messed around’ with a car before and I am concerned I may cause more problems than I solve. I do know what I need to buy if I decide to do it.

Question: Without updating the APIM, how bad is the experience? Can someone take the time to give me a NOOB guide to how I would update that and ONLY that, without messing up anything else in my car?

I tried to get on the Discord and the app just tells me my invite is invalid or expired.

Anyone with experience feel like helping the new guy out? I’d really appreciate it.

it sounds like the only thinks you miss by not updating apim are the calm screen (just a screen that shows a clock or something and not all the fluff and radio station logos. I dont really care about either on of those. if you dont update apim, it wont impact the other features. you just dont get these 2 things.

Thanks for the reply. I did find a decent guide on here. I wish I could get on the Discord.

The APIM guide didn’t look too bad. I only get logo’s when I’m listening to satellite anyway. I accidentally engaged calm mode in my loaner vehicle and prefer the heads up.

It looks like I can do the update and then later down the road flash the apim if I really want to.

I did change my USB installer to be 19274 instead of the latest one. I’ve had no bugs in that car since I’ve had it (about a week). I saw some USB complaints in the newer versions.