Screen went black but turned back on after update from 2.3.17109 to current 3.4.22251

I updated my daughters 2018 Escape the other day to the latest Sync 3 (thumb drive method) and she told me her screen cut off today while listening to music. It did turn back on which differs from what I’m reading about people with just a continual black screen… it doesn’t work at all.

She said it is a little glitchy too, like her Carplay locked up a little as well.

I did a master reset after updating it. Any ideas?

You could try another master reset as sometimes you need it to get the bugs out of that particular version.
You could also update from it to the latest version 3.4.23088, maps 2.22 which has recently been released by Cyanlabs.
If all else fails I suggest you downgrade back to version 3.4.21265 which is apparently more stable.

I do not think an additional MR would help, but it won’t hurt trying.

3.4.22251 is no longer current, plus it has a big warning about not being recommended. Why did you choose that build exactly?.

I would recommend installing another build, 21256 as proven to be quite stable. Or, try the latest 23088. Also, make sure the unit is reformatted, since you have already done from 2.3 to 3.4.

Also, consider there may be a hardware issue developing in the background.
The temporary off screen may be do to a cable being loose, or another HW issue.

I was unaware that 22251 wasn’t regarded as stable. I don’t remember a warning, otherwise I might have not chosen it… my log files are dated 4/5/23 for her vehicle. I also used 22251 on my retro fit of a Sync2 to 3 in my F150, using a screen/apim from an Escape back in February. My truck has had zero issues, I digress before I get too off topic…

If a master reset doesn’t work, I’ll build a 21256 or 23088 drive for her.

Appreciate the feedback.

22251 is stable (or as stable as Ford would allow it to be), but this is stated in Syn3updater: