Steering wheel controls sync1-sync3 3.4

I’ve upgraded to sync3 and everything is working perfectly EXCEPT my steering wheel control. Trust me, I have scoured everywhere. Please talk in plain English bc I’m still learning car talk.
My sync isn’t recognizing CarPlay either but my phone can connect. My phone CarPlay tells me I have to hit to “talk” button on the steering wheel to connect to the car but bc I can’t access that bc my steering controls do not work, so my sync3 does nothing but work like a wireless device… And yes, I did replace the USB bezel.
I read that base sync1 steering wires were connected to the back of the 4.2 inch screen. I did have a 12pin connector that I scratched my head around as it was not used setting up sync3 (3.4) . There were only 4 wires l- for power (pin1) , HSCan- (pin 4) HSCan + (pin5) and ground (pin9)
My backup cam is on my mirror.
I read that these wires need to be connected into the APIM in the Audio in/out jacks for the steering wheel controls to work.
I don’t know which pins to place these into the APIM. Yes, I saw the diagram but I just can’t figure this out. It would be helpful to explain and talk to me like a 1st grader.
I also saw on my AsBuilt SMMC, that one of the lines is missing 2 digits. For instance, the new data shows 1111-1111-1111 but my asbuilt shpws 1111-1111-11 . I know ur supposed to add ur original asbuilt info but does it work if my original is missing 2 digits as the end?

So please help me in telling me where to connect these wires and the forscan issue pertaining to the SCCM.

The sync I bought had the version 3.4 already on it.

Am I missing any steps?

SYNC Region: NA

Navigation Variant: Non Nav

Manufacturer Year: Unknown

Install Type: OEM Replacement

Old SYNC Version: 1.0.25306

New SYNC Version: 3.4.20220

Do you have a error message, if so what is it?
Ps don’t know what version my original sync was but it was sync 1 4.2”

Update Method: Official Ford