Sync update and APIM

I am new to using CyanLabs. I created a USB stick to get from 3.0 to latest 3.4 with NAV. I know from other sites that there is an optional APIM change that is known to brick the APIM… is that part of the standard USB built by cyanlabs? I chose my FROM version, Region and Nav=yes. Then latest 3.4.21194 and 2020 maps. I see all the warnings about MY20 protections… I assume that is ONLY about the reformat, which does not apply to me with a 2016… is this correct? And then my only question is, does the USB I just built do this hazardous APIM change that may brick the unit, or does it just do the safe 3.4 reformat and update? Thanks!

1 Like

Not sure what you are referring to here, the reformat will brick MY20, what other change happens?

I have moved your thread to the correct location as this is relating to Ford Sync 3.

If you posted this in the correct place originaly you would have been asked the following questions…

Please answer these,

What is your SYNC Region?

Do you have Navigation?

What region is your SYNC APIM?

What was your old SYNC Version?

What is your new SYNC Version?

Do you have a error message, if so what is it?

How did you update, Ford Website / CyanLabs Website / Syn3 Updater?

If you answered Syn3 Updater above;

• What version of Syn3 Updater did you use?

• Have you read the documentation at Syn3 Updater - CyanLabs ?

• Please paste your log output or provide the URL to your log file below
    (Log files can be found on the root of your USB drive or in %localappdata%\CyanLabs\Syn3Updater\Logs)

REPLACE THIS TEXT WITH YOUR LOG

Please provide any further details below